Entrevue de Kyle pour « Collider »

C’est le moment d’en apprendre un peu plus sur le personnage de Robert Morehouse qu’interprète Kyle Schmid. « Collider » a interviewé trois des personnages principaux de la série « Copper« . Voici le passage concerant Kyle :

In this exclusive interview with Collider, co-stars Kevin Ryan (who plays Detective Francis Maguire, Detective Corcoran’s closet friend and partner in the Sixth Precinct), Kyle Schmid (who plays Robert Morehouse, a handsome Manhattan aristocrat) and Ato Essandoh (who plays Doctor Matthew Freeman, who secretly assists Corcoran with his work) talked about their audition process, how they got comfortable with this type of stylized dialogue, playing characters that live in the grey area, working on such realistic sets, and their favorite moments for their characters. Check out what they had to say.

Collider: How did you come to be a part of this show ?

Kyle Schmid : I originally read for the Corcoran character. I got on the short list, and flew into Toronto from Montreal and met Tom. Tom and I got along really, really well, but it was apparent that I wasn’t Corcoran. I didn’t even feel like Corcoran. But, the tape got back to Christina Wayne and she said, “He’s a Morehouse. You’ve gotta get him to read [Robert] Morehouse.” From then on out, I had a couple meetings, and then I flew to New York to actually test with Anastasia [Griffith], who plays Elizabeth. We were reading in the room, and I didn’t realize that I actually had the part already. I said, “Do you want me to do anything, performance wise?,” and they jokingly laughed and said, “No, you’ve already got the role,” and I went, “Really!?” And they went, “Yeah, you didn’t know this?” I jumped for joy and made a complete fool of myself, in front of eight BBC executives, who already knew I had the part. It was embarrassing, but it was fun.

Collider : Does this type of dialogue come naturally for you, or have you had to work at it ?

Kyle Schmid : It really didn’t come easily for me. Just the prose and the dialect is very different, and I come from mostly modern shows. But, after the first couple of episodes, it just became natural. Walking onto set, in the wardrobe and everything, you fall into character.

Collider : Did you know how grey your characters would be, and that they would all do good and bad ?

Kyle Schmid : If you’ve seen anything Tom has done in the past, he writes his characters very well. He writes them like any human being, really. We all are who we are. We’re not necessarily good, and we’re not necessarily bad. So much television, in the writing, is so one-dimensional, in that aspect, where you have your good guys and you have your bad guys.

Collider : Do you guys have a favorite storyline or moment for your character, this season ?

Kyle Schmid : I don’t have a specific moment, or anything like that. I think, just over the course of the 10 episodes, all of our characters go through this great arc and journey. It will be watching that unfold that will be the most exciting thing for me.

Vous pouvez lire l’article complet sur Collider.

Laisser un commentaire